Students, staff and parents all joined the celebration for the birthday of Accrington and Rossendale College.
Young and old were invited to enjoy a display of archive photographs and prospectuses at Accrington Library.
The 60-year-old images showcased pupils enjoying cooking, karate and engineering classes.
Library Manager, Carol Visser said: “This was a lovely opportunity for all students and staff to see how the college had progressed and changed over the years.”
The college was officially opened on December 2, 1953 by the then mayor of Accrington. During the fifties three phases of construction work was carried out at the college which involved the addition of new classrooms, laboratories, a gymnasium and tennis courts and football pitches.
Since then there has been various additions to the main campus and the original buildings were knocked down to make way for modern facilities.
This was not only due to a demand for more up to date facilities but also because the student population had more than trebled in size from 2,162 in 1953 to 9,197 in 2013.
New facilities include the Hameldon Centre which now houses all of the college’s construction and engineering departments as well as sport and fitness.
The Coppice Centre houses the media, performing arts and hair and beauty departments and the Broad Oak Centre houses the Library.
The college has also recently had a new all weather 3G football pitch created and a pavilion to go alongside this which has changing and physio rooms, and a classroom.Sue Taylor, principal of the college, added: “We are very proud of our position as a key part of Accrington's heritage.”
For more information about Accrington and Rossendale College visit www.accross.ac.uk